Posted by: runawaynotes | May 7, 2012

Things we should not take for granted

This morning, when I was sitting at the physical therapist’s office with the electrodes strapped to my knee waiting for the timer to go off, I struck up a conversation with an elderly gentleman sitting next to me with the electrodes strapped to his shoulder. He asked me if I was a runner, and I said I was. So, he asked me if I was training for anything in particular. I told him that I wasn’t training for anything at the moment, but that I was planning on training for White Rock marathon in the fall. The elderly gentleman got really excited. “Ah! The Rock! That was my first and only marathon. I ran it, and then I got a bad case of plantar fasciitis. And then, to top it off, I fell down the stairs and hurt my back. So, I could never run another marathon again.” He then proceeded to tell me about the miserable weather conditions on the day he ran the race (“The high of 42 and pouring rain!”) and about how badly his entire body was hurting after he was done. And then he looked at me and said wistfully “I am so jealous of you”.

Here was a man that knew exactly how tough and painful (both physically and mentally) my journey was going to be, and he was jealous of me because I had the ability to embark on that journey. That made me think about several other people that I’ve met in the past couple of years that had high running aspirations but had to give them up because of injuries or other medical conditions. So next time I’m doing another round of hill repeats, or strides, or tempo in grueling Texas summer weather, I will be thinking about all the people I know who are jealous of me for being able to do these things. And never again will I take for granted my ability to do them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

