Posted by: runawaynotes | May 12, 2012

How do I train if I can’t run?

So, ever since my knee started hurting I’ve been taking it easy, which is a nice way of saying “I stopped running”. It’s been really depressing. I hate to know that all the hard work I’ve put in over the past two years is slowly going to waste. Unfortunately, it seems that at this moment running truly is out of the question.

Today I tried to ease back into it slowly by doing just a couple of miles at a comfortable pace. My comfortable pace went from 10:30, to 11:00, to 12:00+. At about mile 2.5 I got a distinct feeling that someone had just shot me in the knee cap. I limped the rest of the way home.

So, where does that leave me? I’m going to sit down with Serge on Monday and ask him flat out how long he things it would take me to get back to normal. But meanwhile I still need to figure out how to stay in shape and be ready for my fall training season. But how do you train to run if you can’t actually run? I mean, I can still do strength training, or yoga, or something else that doesn’t require me to use my knee. But is that good enough? 😦

Responses

  1. I have been there! When I twisted my ankle, i could see all my training go down the tubes in just a matter of minutes. It utterly depressed me as well….you remember how upset i was? Im not going to lie, the first few runs back were not fun….in fact I remember my first run back being so bad i went home crying! Talk to Serge on Monday and see what he says. You will get back to running…..I know its hard when are not able to, but you will get there.

    Call me if you need anything or just to vent

  2. I actually started crying today when my knee gave out. Not so much because of pain because I just got this irrational thought – what if they just can’t fix me?
    Mandi texted me and gave me some tips. I think I’ll try those out, and will keep my running to a mile or so at a time (but regularly).

  3. good luck. can you do non-impact stuff like elliptical, biking or swimming in the meanwhile?

    • Thank you! I actually spoke to my physical therapist about this today, and he recommended using a bike both as an alternative to running and as a warm-up before a run. I think I will try that as well as the elliptical. Swimming is not really an option right now. Although that would have been nice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

