Posted by: runawaynotes | May 14, 2012

The right decisions.

So, I’ve been thinking about something this morning. Why is it so difficult sometimes to make the right decision even when you know exactly what that decision is? I mean, this morning I came to work and went straight for the snack area that we have set up at the office. That was not a bad decision in itself – I was hungry after my physical therapy session, and there were some healthy options there (bananas, apples, oranges). So, I knew that the right decision would be to take a banana, which would have been a nice source of potassium, or orange – great source of vitamin C. What do I pick instead? – A slice of apple pie. Why? Why?!

And that’s pretty much the story of my life. I get frustrated and stressed when I have a dirty house. However, when I come home after work, instead of spending 30 minutes to put away dirty dishes, do a quick sweep of the floors, and fold the laundry, I plop down in front of my computer and waste the whole evening on Pinterest or Goodreads. I know that I should get the salad and a grilled chicken breast, but I order greasy burger and fries. I know that I need to work out, but I choose to play Angry Birds instead. I also know that I should take my vitamins and supplements, but I just… don’t. Cause it would actually required some effort on my part (huh?!). It would have been ok to do these things if they actually made me happy in the end. I mean, some people truly aren’t bothered by the fact that their house is messy. They have absolutely no guilt about eating that burger or skipping a workout. And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that. My problem is that I end up more stressed and more frustrated after making the wrong decision because it doesn’t get me closer to being the kind of person I want to be and having the kind of life I want to have. So, why is it still so hard to make the right decisions?

The thing about being an adult is that the only person who can tell you what to do is you. I remember when my mom used to nag me about cleaning my room, or doing homework, or getting some fresh air. Sometimes I wish someone would yell at me now because clearly my own inner nagging voice is not loud enough.

Responses

  1. its tough, you’ve got to do it one decision at a time. re food from work stress maybe this helps. certainly helps me at least half the time.

    http://52weeks52pounds.wordpress.com/2011/07/28/dont-let-em-get-your-health-too/

    • This is too funny. At my company, we have a saying “We are [Employer]. We kill people.” That’s because we’ve had several people land at the hospital during our busy times with heart attacks, stress related chest pains, you name it. So, your mantra is very appropriate.

      I’ve also read something today (in a young adult dystopian book, of all places) that inspired me. One of the characters said “Everyone makes mistakes. We just need to let our guilt remind us to do better next time.” So, I’m trying on this new way of looking at things. If I mess up once and feel bad about it, I’m not going to use it as an excuse to let the rest of my day go to waste. I’m going to use it as a reminder that my next decision has to be better. It has worked so far – I’m eating a healthy dinner (lean protein, fresh vegetables, no alcohol). And I’m getting ready to go clean my kitchen and do laundry 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

