Posted by: runawaynotes | May 20, 2012

Yoga

So, I decided that it’s finally time I do something about my horrendous inflexibility. I mean, it’s so bad that I can barely touch my toes (on a good day, after a warm-up). Since my physical therapist and several of my friends have been hailing the benefits of yoga, I decided that I needed to give it a try. That’s how I found myself this morning in a dimly lit room, surrounded by a bunch of strangers, thinking “Holy, cow! You mean, it’s actually possible for a human body to do this?!” By “this” I mean the stuff that most of the other students seemed to be able to do with ease – touching their forehead to their knees, sinking comfortably into the downward dog position, lowering their body in a stretch that looked more like a split, etc.

I was struggling. I could feel the burning in my glutes, my calves, and my quads. My neck and back felt stiff and awkward. My balance was awful. However, after a few minutes I was able to stop concentrating on what I couldn’t do and instead start concentrating on how good it felt to stretch out my limbs and just breathe. The instructor was very helpful too. She would gently adjust me to help me guide my body in the right position, so I didn’t have to wonder if I was actually doing what I was supposed to be doing.

When I walked out of the studio an hour later, I felt great. I felt calm and relaxed and maybe just a little light-headed. I bought a 30-day unlimited pass that the studio offered to allow new clients to explore different classes, so I am definitely coming back again. It will be interesting to see how my body (and my mind) are going to feel after a month.

Responses

  1. Yoga has helped me so much as a runner. I did it years ago before I ran, then let it lapse when running took over my life. I started doing it again six months ago and I swear it’s improved my running. It’s also made my core stronger, and keeps my legs more flexible.

    • I’m hoping that it will help my flexibility. I think that a lot of my issues (both running and non-running) are due to the fact that my muscles are always so tight.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

