Posted by: runawaynotes | May 26, 2012

It’s all about the bumper sticker

I decided that I’ve published enough of depressing injury-related posts, and that I needed to write about something positive and uplifting. So, I figured that I might as well write something to address the question that I’ve been asked by numerous friends and family members ever since I decided that I wanted to be a runner – “Why are you doing this to yourself?!” Apparently, people find it hard to believe that someone would actually enjoy running for the sake of running. They have serious doubts that someone can find the pleasure in waking up at the crack of dawn just to run for a couple of hours in 95+ temperature in the summer (and 80% humidity) or 42 degree temperature in winter (with gusts of wind and lovely freezing downpour). They pale when they see my ghastly toe nails (so far, I’ve lost two of them); they wince sympathetically when they see me crawling out of my car after a particularly grueling run; they shudder when I lovingly describe the heavenly relief of an ice bath. And they keep asking the same question over and over again: “WHY?!” Well, it’s time I give them an honest answer. I’m doing all these things to myself so that I can put this on my car:

Now, I’ve got to say – I’ve always been a sucker for a good snarky bumper sticker (or key chain, or t-shirt). In college, I was a proud owner of the following:

Yes, I was an arrogant, snarky little princess, which is evidenced by the fact that when I passed my CPA exam, my husband gave me this:

So, it’s only natural that the magic of the running bumper stickers would draw me in. I mean, runners have some of the best snarkiest bumper stickers, mugs, t-shirts, you name it. Here’s just a small sample of the awesomeness that are running bumper stickers (and other swag):

Runners even manage to use their children to display their running accomplishments:

But of course the true allure of the running bumper stickers lies in the numbers. Ever since the first time I noticed that some cars had the magic numbers on them – 13.1, 26.2, 70.3, 140.6 (are those freaks even human?!) – I was instantly jealous of the arrogant S.O.B.’s that have done something so amazingly brag-worthy. And I swore to myself that one day I will be one of them. The day I ran my first half marathon, I proudly bought this and stuck it on my car:

I thought this was going to be enough. I mean, how many 13.1 bumper stickers do you see during your morning commute? But soon enough I realized that doing something half way was not going to be good enough. The awesomeness that is the 26.2 bumper sticker just kept calling to me, and finally I decided that I could not rest until those magic numbers are proudly gracing my car. And who cares if I lose a few more toe nails in the process? Because everyone knows:

P.S. All the images were taken from the wonderful place that is http://www.cafepress.com/.

Responses

  1. I think; therefore I am. I run; therefore I will be. Go runners!

    • I truly believe that runners have some of the strongest spirit and the best attitude out there. I mean, how else do you force yourselt to keep going 🙂

  2. you are funny.

    • Have you ever noticed the car in our parking garage that has the 26.2 decal? Every day on my way to work I walk past it and I keep thinking to myself “I’m going to get you my pretty!”

  3. hey it’s not just about the bumper sticker. it’s also about the shirt to wear out and about! (OK i admit it – I am wearing my LI (half-) marathon shirt to the gym or my NYC 2012 marathon training shirt or my NYC 2012 training cap to impress). Today I wore my LI marathon shirt and my training cap just to show how serious business I was. 🙂

    • Yes, it is most definitely about the shirts as well. I shamelessly rock all of my “finisher” t-shirts whenever I get the opportunity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

