Posted by: runawaynotes | June 1, 2012

Race Day: Dallas Marathon Kickoff 6.4K

Today is June 1st, which was supposed to be the day I sign up for the Dallas Marathon. I’m being reasonable about it, and I’m going to wait another couple of weeks to see how my knee is doing. And I think I’m fine with that.

Yesterday was the kickoff party for the Dallas Marathon 2012 season. MetroPCS and Miller 64 sponsored a 6.4K race (non-timed), which was limited to 500 runners. Both Serge and my doctor agreed that I wouldn’t cause any additional damage to my knee if I run it, but I might be really uncomfortable while doing it. I figured I could do with a bit of discomfort, and it turned out to be not too bad at all. I went at a very slow pace (averaged 11:57), but I ran the entire 4 miles. My knee was completely fine for the first 3 of those miles, and then started to get a bit touchy during my last mile – but nothing I couldn’t deal with. I was paying a lot of attention to my running form, trying to figure out what I do that triggers the pain and if there’s anything I can modify about my running form to make the pain go away. I noticed that my knee began to hurt more when my heel would strike the pavement first, and it didn’t bother me when I landed flat on the middle of my foot with my knee above my ankle.  So, I had to make a conscious effort not to overextend my leg. After the race was over, my knee was a little sore, but not really all that bad. That made me very happy (and hopeful).

I talked to Serge this morning, and I told him about my observation. He said that once I’m done with my meds and the inflammation in my knee is gone, he’ll put me on the track and we’ll work on my running form. I was totally cool with that plan. In addition, a couple of people who I talked to at the race have suggested that I might want to read “Chi Running” book. Supposedly, it has some good advice what running technique is best to stay injury-free. So, I ordered it on Amazon this morning. I’ve started taking my steroids today. I don’t know how long it takes for them to kick in, but I can’t say I feel any different (both in terms of pain, and in terms of side effects). Although they do taste nasty, so that’s a bummer. Hopefully, I’ll start seeing some improvement tomorrow.

Overall, yesterday was a great experience. It reminded me why I love running so much. Just being out there, with all those people, made me feel happy and bubbly. I recognized many runners from old races or from my running club. It was awesome to high-five the people as they were passing me by, to cheer on my friends, and to have that feeling of accomplishment after crossing the finish line. And I know what sooner or later, I will be back there again. I just need to have a little patience. And even if it doesn’t happen this year, I am still…

 

Responses

  1. heel striking is very bad for the foot and leg – it’s one of the reason the natural running took off (you won’t heel strike when barefoot). encouraging heel strike is what people blame the original sneakers for because they made it possible.

    • Now that my medication has kicked in, I can definitely tell what kind of motion makes my knee pain flare up. It’s basically anything that forces me to bend my knees too deep (like squats) or to overextend my leg and engage my knee (like kicking or heel striking when I run). Now I just need to figure out how to avoid doing all these things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

