Posted by: runawaynotes | June 12, 2012

Latest update

I know I haven’t been writing much lately, but I didn’t feel upbeat and peppy enough to write anything fun, and I got sick of my own complaining about my knee, so I figured I would give writing a break. However, today definitely warranted an update because I’ve gotten my MRI results back. So, what does it have to say?

1. Type II signal change in the medial meniscal posterior horn. No definitive meniscal tear is identified. Intact lateral meniscus.
2. Intact cruciate and collateral ligaments and extensor tendons.
3. No lateral patellar subfluxion or patellar tilt. Normal patellar tendon length. No Chondral defects or osteochondral lesions are seen.
4. No signs of erosive or degenerative arthropathy. No contusion injury, stress change or fracture is seen.

So, basically… there is absolutely nothing wrong with me. Huh?! Not sure how that works, but there is nothing wrong with my tendons, ligaments, cartilage, connective tissue, etc. My knee just hurts. Go figure. The doctor kind of scratched his head as he was going over my MRI results with me, and said that his best guess would be that I did irritate it a couple of months ago, but the inflammation eventually went away and the damage healed. He pointed out my infrapatellar fat pad (look at all the fancy words I’ve learned today) and said that it did look slightly enlarged, which can be an indication of a prior trauma. It also would explain why I feel discomfort when I kneel down or flex my leg in a way that puts pressure on my knee – my knee cap is physically pushing down on the enlarged pad causing it to ache.

Ok, where does that leave me? Well, since they can’t figure out what’s wrong with me, they don’t know how to treat me. For now, I’m told to continue with yoga and core workouts (just no kneeling, no deep lunges, and no squats). If my knee is not bothering me during normal daily activities, I can start walking briskly on a treadmill for 5-10 minutes. If that doesn’t hurt either, I’m allowed to move things up to a slow jog, again for 5-10 minutes. I’m supposed to be taking anti-inflammatory medication and putting ice on my knee after I’m done, and I am to check back with my doctor in 10 days for new developments. Well, while I was hoping for a bit more certainty, at least I know that there is nothing majorly wrong with me.

But I guess the million dollar question is – how is my knee actually feeling. And the answer is – I don’t know. It’s sore, but then again, my entire body is sore right now from the deep stretch yoga class I took on Friday. At the same time, earlier that day I did a 5K walk for North Texas Susan G. Komen, and felt absolutely fine. And yes, my knee gets tender when I have to kneel down on hard floor (that’s why I started using a blanket or a towel to provide some cushion for my knees in my yoga class), but at the same time I’m able to do all kinds of poses that require a good amount of strength in my legs, and they don’t bother me. So, I guess I’ll start with my 5 minute walks, and then gradually build up to running and see how I feel. I have finally received my Chi Running book from Amazon, so I’m going to be working on modifying my running form as well. I guess I have my work cut out for me. Hopefully, my knee will hold up. Please, keep your fingers crossed for me.

Responses

  1. Our bodies can be so stubborn sometimes! At least now you know there’s nothing seriously wrong with your knee, so that’s something to celebrate. Sounds like you’re doing everything right as far as easing back into your running.

    • I guess you are right, I do have a reason to celebrate. Although, it is frustrating when you feel like something is still “off”, but you pass all the tests with flying colors. I hate not being able to trust my own body.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

