Posted by: runawaynotes | June 17, 2012

Who stole my lungs?

Even though I’ve gotten my doctor’s blessing to ease back into running a while ago, I haven’t been able to actually do that because of some nasty throat bug. Kinda hard to run when it feels like you are inhaling razors. Well, today was the first day I didn’t feel like fish pulled out of the water, so I decided to go for my little 10-minute jog. Plus, I’ve been diligently reading my ChiRunning book, and I’ve been dying to try out certain techniques.

Well, what can I tell you about it? My knee was ok. Slightly twitchy, but that was not surprising considering the fact that I was going pretty fast. Apparently, I’ve lost all of my ability to judge my pace. In addition, I was trying out the whole “let the gravity pull you forward thing”, and apparently the gravity was doing a stellar job because when I looked at my garmin 2 minutes into it, I was doing 9:20 minute mile. Oops.

If the realization that I can go pretty fast without triggering my knee pain was a pleasant surprise, my breathing (or my inability to breathe) was quite an unpleasant one. Apparently, while I was taking a break from running, some 90-year old smoker had snatched my lungs and replaced the with his. Possibly, he only had one lung to begin with. This was awful. My lack of practice combined with recovering from throat bug and multiplied by the nice Texas summer temperature was quite a sucky combination. So, now I have about a month left to get my lungs back. Grr.

Responses

  1. Plus the horrible humidity, plus the high levels of grass allergens . . . I’ve been using my asthma inhaler before every single run for the past month or so. Ugh. I’m right there with you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

