Posted by: runawaynotes | June 30, 2012

The new/old routine

Last week I promised myself that I was going to get back on track (literally and figuratively), and that’s what I’ve been working on this week. The requirements for the marathon training program are for the runner to be able to finish a 6-mile run and to be running regularly at least 3 times per week. That is pretty much how often (at least) I used to run before I got injured. So I decided this would be a good place to start: run 3 days a week and gradually build up to 6 miles. So far, I’ve been making steady progress. I did 3 miles last Saturday, 2.5 miles on Tuesday, 3 miles on Thursday, and close to 4.5 miles today. I think this Tuesday-Thursday-Saturday routine (which matches my old training schedule) is working out quite well. And I can fit yoga in on Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday. Winning!

Now, I can’t say that this week has been all puppies and rainbows. My knee is still bothering me. It’s actually doing more or less ok during the run itself, but it starts to ache as soon as I stop. Also, I feel like I simply lack confidence that this leg is going to hold up, and that I am subconsciously favoring it, which is definitely not good. Plus, Texas weather is really determined to suck all the life out of me. Thankfully, my office building offers a free gym, so I can use the treadmill on Tuesday and Thursday nights. However, on Saturday’s I still drag my butt outside – I’ve got to build my heat and humidity tolerance back up. I’ve been keeping my pace down – as low as 13:00 and definitely not higher than 11:30. My motto right now is “I’m built for comfort, I ain’t built for speed”. And I am fine with that 🙂

I’ve been combatting the pain in my knee and my IT band with yoga and a trusted foam roller (holding it for 30 seconds on the tight spot really does wonders, even though the process itself is far from pleasant). I have also invested in a knee brace, which I tested out this morning. I was really impressed with how well it worked. The design itself was very comfortable – not too tight to cut off circulation and not too loose to slide around and rub. And I was virtually pain-free even after 4.5 miles. I also noticed that simply having it on gave me the confidence not to favor my right knee. Having this even steady compression around it eased my fear of it buckling. So, I am definitely happy with this purchase.

I have finally been able to try all the yoga classes that are offered at my studio (that are suitable for my level). I think that for now I will stick to Gentle flow, Deep Stretch, and Restorative, since these classes seem to fit my schedule and my needs best. Speaking of Restorative – that was an entirely new yoga experience for me. This class relies heavily on props – blankets, straps, blocks, bolsters,etc. All the poses are designed to allow your body to gradually relax into them. You start by leaning into a prop, be it a blanket roll or a bolster, and then just let your body “melt” a fraction at a time. I think that the entire 75 minute class consisted of only 5 poses, but we spent a lot of time in each pose, so the few areas that we worked on got a REALLY good stretch. I was finally able to get rid of some of the deep tension in my lower back and hip joints. I think I might be buying a bolster to use at home 🙂

Goal for next week – to keep up with my running schedule. I’m volunteering at the Saturday race, so my outdoor run will have to be on Sunday (I will be shooting for 5 miles). And then the following Sunday will be my first race since the beginning of my recovery. I will be doing Too Hot To Handle 5k. I was originally going to do 15k, but I’m definitely not going to push myself that far 🙂 Can’t wait to be racing again!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

