Posted by: runawaynotes | July 11, 2012

Looks like I’m registering for the marathon training after all

I did it – I ran 6 miles! So now I officially meet the requirements for the full marathon training program. Now, I won’t say that this was an easy run. It was hot and humid, and the course that my running buddy Rick had picked out was pretty hilly. We started at Flag Pole hill, and that pretty much set the tone for the rest of the run.

I can definitely tell that my knee didn’t particularly appreciate it, but it voiced its discontent very mildly. And a good stretch at the end of the run has taken care of most of the discomfort. I’m icing it right now just to nip any kind of potential inflammation in the bud, but overall I still declare tonight’s run a success 🙂 I actually think I felt better doing 6 miles tonight, hills and all, than I did yesterday doing 3 miles on a treadmill. Running on a treadmill makes me stiffen up, so that my shoulders hurt for hours after I’m done. It also bores me out of my mind when I have to do more than two miles. I think the only reason why I was able to do it at all at the beginning of my recovery is because I was paying too much attention to how my body was feeling, so my mind was constantly preoccupied. I’m really glad that the training season starts in less than a couple of weeks, and I will not have to resort to treadmill anymore for longer runs.

I’m attaching my stats for today’s run. Not bad at all, I would dare say 🙂

20120711-213635.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

