Posted by: runawaynotes | July 20, 2012

Yoga under the open sky

My yoga studio was hosting a happy hour today, which was preceded by an outdoors yoga class open to general public. I have known about this class for a while, but I haven’t been able to make up my mind as to whether I was going to attend it until the very last minute. The last few days have been just miserably hot, and even today the weatherman on the radio was predicting the high of 103. Since I cannot call myself a yoga fanatic quite yet, I just didn’t see the appeal of trying to do yoga poses on scorching hot concrete patio while sweating like a pig. My own personal zen doesn’t work this way. However, when I left work today, the sky was surprisingly cloudy and the breeze was fresh and pleasant. I even saw a few drops of rain on my windshield. Interestingly enough, the idea of potentially doing yoga in the rain didn’t scare me off. So, I raced home, changed into my yoga clothes, grabbed my mat, and headed to the studio. And I’m so glad I did, because tonight’s experience was truly amazing.

It didn’t rain. Instead, the air was cool and fresh (in the middle of July!) and the breeze felt like a caress on my skin. Lying on my mat before the class started, staring into the endless gray sky stretched out above my head, I could just feel all the tension melt away from my body. When I closed my eyes, it was so easy to imagine that I was completely alone somewhere in the middle of nowhere. Even the music from the speakers and the instructor’s voice didn’t break the illusion. The class was a little bit more advanced than what I am used to, but in a way it made it easier to get into the flow because of the faster pace – it matched the natural rhythm of my breath better than the slower-paced gentle flow classes I’ve been attending. I will be honest – some of the poses were completely out of my reach (I’ve been amazed at the way some people made the Crow pose look effortless), and today was the first time I actually had to go back to the Happy Baby pose  a couple of times just to rest and regroup for a few seconds. But the experience did not feel discouraging. Instead, it felt like I was getting a glimpse of things that I can look forward to in the future. I left the mat feeling completely relaxed and rejuvenated. Now I just have to hold on to this feeling for my first long run of the training season tomorrow. 7 miles – here I come!

Responses

  1. Sounds lovely! There is something so special about doing yoga outside…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

