Posted by: runawaynotes | August 2, 2012

R.I.P. Garmin Forerunner 305?

I cannot decide if my Garmin 305 has decided to die on me, or if there is just some glitch that can possibly be fixed. After my morning run, I turned it off and set it aside while I was getting ready for work. I realized that I forgot to log in my miles for the day, so I tried to turn it back on to check history. It wouldn’t respond. I tried soft reset. Still nothing. I tried hard reset. The unit came back to life and then died a few seconds later. I tried turning it on a couple more times using hard reset – same result. Since I was running late for work, I figured I would just let it be and look at it later. Well, it’s “later” now, and even hard reset cannot bring my Garmin back to life. I have a sinking feeling that this might be it for this unit. So, now I have a dilemma – do I try to fix it (it’s out of warranty), or do I get a new gps watch? And if I get a new one, do I get same model, or try something else?

It appears that 305 model has been discontinued. So, I would have to shell out $285+ for a brand new unit or settle for a refurbished one. As for trying out another model – I haven’t been able to find anything yet that meets all of my criteria:

1) easy to figure out controls (touch bezel drives me crazy)
2) large simple screen with multiple view options (305 was perfect for me in this respect), and the ability to switch between them while running
3) auto pause and auto-lap features
4) long battery life – that’s what prevented me from getting MOTOACTV watch
5) gps and heart rate monitor functions
6) calorie computation

Right now I’m considering Garmin 210, although that one is pretty pricy too. Plus it doesn’t allow you to change data fields 😦 I guess I’m going to have to make up my mind in the next couple of days, since training is in full swing. What a pain!

Responses

  1. Are you running too much? 😉

    • Funny – Matt asked if it overheated during my runs in 100+ temperatures.

  2. I had nothing but problems with my old 305, and don’t know anyone who had one who didn’t also have issues (battery wouldn’t charge, froze from the slightest bit of moisture, etc.). I downgraded and got the 110 and LOVE it. It’s very simple and gives me what I need, which is mainly just the average pace and distance. You can download each workout to the Garmin Connect site and still get your splits. It’s much cheaper, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

