Posted by: runawaynotes | September 12, 2012

Unreported milestones

Just as I got excited about having a little more breathing room at work and being able to catch up on my blogging, my job said “Psych!” So, now I am back to being knee deep in numbers, PowerPoint presentations, and memos. As a result, I have not written anything for quite some time, and I missed some important milestones that I’ve reached in my training program. I figured that I should probably catch up and report those 🙂 So, here we go:

Milestone #1: I’ve hit the 100 mile mark for my monthly total. In my two and a half years of running, I’ve never committed enough to hit the 100 mile mark. I believe my average monthly mileage was in the high 50’s-low 60’s range. Needless to say, I am really excited about this one.

Milestone #2: We are done with the “Base” phase of the training program, and have officially entered the “Strenth” phase. This means fun things like hill work (hello, Flag Pole hill!), speed work (strides and fartleck), and some serious long runs. This will be the phase when I’m finally going to break out of my 14 mile “comfort zone” and venture out on 16-17 mile long Saturday runs. My training group is already discussing the joys of ice baths and the best remedies for blisters. I say, bring it on!

Milestone #3: I’ve been tracking my nutritional data daily for over a month now. It’s getting harder and harder to lose weight since I’m building muscle, but I don’t get frustrated because I know that this is a temporary plateau and that I am eating right for my current level of activity. Yes, I still have some days where I go ahead and eat 5 cream cheese muffins in one sitting (disclaimer – I made those from scratch, and they were only 142 calories each, but still, I know…). But I get right back on track and don’t beat myself up over it.

The last one is not a milestone, but more of a status update. I’m still doing yoga regularly, and I’ve started a 4 week long seminar called “Meet your mat” that breaks down the basis poses and concentrates on proper form. I will be writing about this one in my next post (which should hopefully be some time this week 🙂 ) I’m trying to find another work out to do at least one day per week as another form of cross-training. I’ve read a lot about the benefits of strength training for runners, so I am trying to find something fun that I can do at home without a ton of equipment.

So, these are all of my milestones in a nutshell. I’ve updated my mileage as well, so that people don’t think I’m slacking in that department. Oh, and one more thing – it finally feels like Fall is here! The mornings have been absolutely wonderful for running! Just thought I should share my excitement 🙂

Responses

  1. Looks like your training is going so well. Welcome to the really long runs, and your first 20 miler. I swear by yoga. It’s so great for runners.

    • You know, for some reasons long runs don’t scare me as much as speedwork. I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the fact that I’m training with a 4:20 group. So far, I’ve been able to keep up with everyone, and I don’t feel like I’m killing myself. But fartlecks this morning were brutal.
      And I am SO excited about breaking 20 miles soon. It’s one of those things that I couldn’t even imagine doing a year ago. And all of the sudden it’s within reach!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

