Posted by: runawaynotes | September 29, 2012

16 miles in the rain

I hate running in the rain. Ever since doing White Rock half marathon in pouring freezing rain last year, I have this strong aversion to running in soaking wet clothes, with water sloshing in my shoes. However, I don’t get to pick weather conditions for my long training runs. So, this Saturday’s 16-miler was a nice rainy one.

It took us a little over 3 hours to finish 16.5 miles. Three hours of running in the rain = major chafing/rubbing issues. My socks got soaked, and despite all the Bodyglide that I had diligently applied earlier that morning, my shoes began to rub. So did my heart rate monitor strap. So did the seams on my shirt and capris pants. Which means that today I hurt in places where I didn’t even know I had places. I have bloody blisters on my toes and raw marks on my chest, back, thighs, and other far more delicate areas of my body. I’ve been practically bathing in petroleum jelly and A&D cream for the past two days with only marginal success. I’m sorta dreading tomorrow’s 30 minute recovery run because I’m not sure how my body is going to handle any sweat or friction.

On the upside, my muscles and joints are doing way better than I thought they were going to do. I did a quick 15 minute soak in a cold bath (about 15 degrees Celsius) right after my run, and then took a nice hot shower about an hour later. Apparently, that was enough to get rid of any soreness and tension in my muscles. Even though I felt more tired that I normally do (I went to bed at 8:30 last night), I did not feel much pain or discomfort. I even survived my Sunday yoga seminar where we practiced the Chair pose. I can’t say that it was my strongest Chair pose ever, but I did it with minimal amount of whining.

Next week will be “easy” as we are doing only 14 miles on Saturday. The following week will be a lot more intense: we’ll finish out our hill work with 8 sets of hill repeats on Tuesday, and we’ll add another mile to our Saturday long run for a total of 17 miles. I will be praying for some nice, cool, DRY weather.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

