Posted by: runawaynotes | November 26, 2012

First tentative race day weather forecast

20121126-213019.jpg

Sunny and dry. High in the high-60’s, low in the mid-40’s. Not perfect, but if it doesn’t get any worse (and if high humidity doesn’t decide to rear its ugly head), I will not be complaining. Also, low winds would be pretty sweet. I did my short 3-mile run in the evening today, and I nearly got blown off the road by the gusts of wind courtesy of the cold front coming through. It made me have really bad flashbacks to the only race when I’ve ever gotten sick to my stomach while running.

It was a Trinity Levee 10K run about two years ago, when I was determined to finish under an hour. Unfortunately, the wind was absolutely insane that day. It was strong, gusty, and seemed to be coming from all directions at once. I kept inhaling gusts of air as I was running, and it was doing all sorts of not so nice things to my stomach. What ultimately did me in was sprinting up the hill at the very end of the course. I promptly got sick on top of that hill, before the spectator crowd could spot me (thank God!), ran across the finish line and straight to a row of port-a-potties. By the way, I did finish under 59 minutes 🙂 I am so not looking forward to repeating that experience with 20 extra miles added to the course. More weather updates to come in the next two weeks.

Responses

  1. The Trinity Levee race is one that everybody I know loves to hate. It seems extreme weather is the norm, especially wind, but hopefully he Dallas Marathon will have great weather this year. Too soon to start worrying about it, though!

    • I know it’s too soon to worry about things like the weather, but I just can’t help it 🙂 Also, I’m starting to freak out about the possibility of getting sick. Every headache and every sneeze is a symptom of something terrible, lol. I think I’m driving my husband crazy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

