Posted by: runawaynotes | December 6, 2012

This madness has got to stop

I am about to run my first marathon in two days and I am driving myself absolutely crazy. I’ve been checking weather forecast pretty much every couple of hours for the past few days. Right now it still looks like it’s going to be in the upper 60’s (which is way better than 70’s), but nowhere near perfect condition. There is also a small chance of rain during the race, which would be nothing new, but would definitely add a new twist to the game.

Also, I’ve been obsessing over my knee. I forgot to put on my knee brace before my last long run (9 miles), and it’s feeling slightly twingy now. It’s not pain per se, but a constant sense of awareness. In addition, when I ran on Tuesday, I realized now super tight my right hip is (hello again, piriformis muscle). So, I think this tightness is pulling my knee out of alignment as well. I’ve been stretching and doing yoga, but I don’t know how much I’m going to be able to remediate before Sunday. The sensation in my knee is not intense, and I actually feel better when I do run because my muscle seem to loosen up with movement, but I just have this voice in my head that keeps repeating “Well, what if your knee gives out during the race?” And I don’t know how to get this voice to shut up.

At first, I’ve tried looking online for some articles that can offer me some helpful tips and some reassurance that this is not going to be a big deal, but the stuff that I found did not comfort or reassure me – just made me more freaked out. I realized that if I keep going like this – with obsessive checking of weather forecast, reading about injuries, and being overly aware of every single twinge in my knee and hip – I am going to fail at this race before I even step across that start line. I need to stop. I need to stop reading. I need to stop checking the weather until the night before the race. I need to stop freaking out about my knee. What I need to do is rest, stretch, stay hydrated, and ice my knee every night just to make sure that I nix any possible inflammation. Oh, and I definitely need to make sure that I pack a freakin’ knee brace this time.

Responses

  1. Pre-race jitters. Forget about perfect conditions and you’ll do great! Fall back on all your training to get up to this point and don’t start out too fast. Lastly, don’t forget to blog post-race. Best of luck on your first marathon. 🙂

    • Thank you! I decided that my two goals for the race is to 1) finish, and 2) have fun. I’m not even going to worry about the time. And there definitely will be a full post-race recap (probably with pictures) 🙂

  2. Those are the only two goals you should have for Sunday, especially if the weather conditions do turn out to be less than ideal. You are experiencing The Last Week of Taper Hell. Trust your training. Your body is ready. Your knee will more than likely be fine for race day. You won’t “fail” at the race. Don’t let your mind drive you crazy. Your thoughts can make or break your entire race experience. Just remember: everyone out there is going through the same thing as you. All you have to do is cross the finish line. And honestly, when it’s all said and done, no one really cares what your finish time is after a race. Just go out and get the job done. Can’t wait to read all about it next week!

  3. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

