Posted by: runawaynotes | March 27, 2013

Now what?

Two hours and 27 minutes of anguish, frustration, and anger. Tens of thousands of people trying to reach a common goal, failing over and over again. Every now and then, you get a glimmer of hope that the end to this misery is near, but another few moments pass, and you realize that you are as far away from that precious prize as you were an hour ago. Your loved ones are cheering you on. “Keep on trying! We believe in you!” Those lucky few who have gone before you and succeeded also share words of encouragement “Do not give up! It’s not over yet!” You think you’ve hit the wall. You don’t have the mental fortitude to keep going. You are ready to give up. But then that little voice just whispers in your ear “Come on! One more try!” And you click your mouse, and just like that, miraculously, you are registered for Marine Corps Marathon 2013! 

Holy crap! That registration was brutal! Seriously, they should give out medals just for being able to get through. I was on MCM website at 10:30 am CTS watching that countdown. At 11 am on the dot, I clicked on the “register” link only to be immediately notified that the system was not available. I knew it was going to be bad. This thing did sell out in 2 hours and 41 minutes last year. I just didn’t realize HOW bad it was going to be. Judging from the number and the tone of the Facebook posts on MCM wall, neither did the other few tens of thousands of people who were trying to register. I bet Active.com would need to hire a few more people just to sort through the amount of hate mail that they have received today. Oh well, it’s over now, and I beat the system (the one that was unavailable). To quote one of the Facebook posters, “I’ve gone through all this pain, and now I still get to run 26.2 miles?!”

Well, yeah, that’s kind of the point 🙂 Apparently, I am a glutton for punishment and I did not get that out of my system during the last training season. In fact, I’ve upped the ante because this race is going to take place almost two months earlier in the year than Dallas (White Rock) marathon. This means that I would need to start training in June. In Texas.

Aaaanyway. In order to keep myself motivated, and because (as I have already pointed out) I am a glutton for punishment, I believe I will also be signing up for the Hottest Half. This lovely half marathon takes place in Texas at the end of August. So, if I don’t want to die a slow, painful, and very hot death, I will have to drag my butt outsider every morning to log those miles.

So, that’s pretty much my plan in a nutshell. To be honest, it’s really not much of a plan at this point. I have a pretty clear idea of where I want to end up, but I still need to figure out how to get there. Training schedule is going to be the biggest challenge. In my prior three years of running, I’ve always had my trusted DRC to hold my hand through the process. They provided me with a training plan, a pre-set time and place to train, and a bunch of fellow insane runners to keep me company while I’m doing it. Right now, at least for the first couple of months of training, I’m going to be on my own. Although, I know that at least a few of the DRC guys have managed to get into MCM as well, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that at least one of them runs the same pace as I do 🙂

Responses

  1. I spent 2.5 hours in hell trying to register, getting on the site multiple times, even making it all the way to the end and giving my credit card info, only to get booted off before the confirmation page. It was horrible! The next day I received an email that after checking their databases, active.com discovered I was indeed registered. What a stressful way to register for a race. See you there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

