Posted by: runawaynotes | July 28, 2013

Long time no see

Yes, I know that I’ve been MIA for quite some time. But I promise, I have a good excuse reason. First, there were two weeks of vacation (in two different countries). Then, there was a week of having no computer due to the fact that my Garmin had killed it (I’ll have more to say about this later). Finally, there was an overseas business trip (yet to another country). So, I do have a lot of catching up to do.

First things first, I have officially entered week 11 of my training plan, and I will start posting weekly summary updates again to keep myself accountable. I was able to keep up my base mileage even with all my crazy travel (even though I couldn’t do a lot of the strength workouts and long runs on the road), so I am still staying with the program. In fact, I’ll be adding a cross training component to my training next month (more on that in a later post – see how I’m teasing all this great stuff I’m going to write about soon 😉 )

Now, despite all that good stuff, the jury is still out as to how well my training is going. This is my first time to be doing such intense and long workouts in the middle of the summer, and I am definitely feeling the difference between running 9 miles in October and doing it in July. And 9 miles is the distance that I have to do on Tuesday mornings before work. Weekends are much more intense. In addition, we’ve entered the strength phase of the training program, which means things like hill repeats, strides, and speed work. I’ve been trailing at the end of the pack for a long time, and I just got tired of feeling like I have to kill myself just to keep up with the rest of the crew. So, I made a decision to step back and drop down to 11 min mile pace. I did the 17 mile run at a slower pace this Sunday, and I felt so much better. So, I think I’ll continue with this pace from now on.

Speaking of today’s run, despite the fact that the new pace made it much more enjoyable, I still had a fair share of struggles. First, my knee started to bother me around mile 10. By the time we made it back to the parking lot, it was buckling and would not let me put any weight on it. I think this was me paying for the 20 hours I had spent on the plane this week. Dehydration and cramped spaces did a number on my IT band, which jacked with my kneecap. I’m drinking lots of water, stretching and rolling it out, so I’m hoping this won’t happen again.

The second issue I had was a bit more unusual. As our runs got longer, we’ve been spending more and more time in the sun (which was particularly active today). So, when I got home and got in the shower, I discovered that in addition to major tan lines (compression sock lines and lovely Garmin outline on my wrist), my entire body was covered in hives. I was having a major sun allergy outbreak. That definitely explained why I felt funny for the last couple of miles of the run. So, now I’m all bumpy and itchy and still dealing with blurry vision and sneezing. And I have no idea how to prevent this from happening again. I mean, I wear sunscreen, but it’s pretty much gone a couple of hours into my run. And reapplying is not much of an option when you are dripping sweat. Also, I’m not sure if I can take benadryl while running. Waking up at 4:30 a.m. is hard as is, and having to wade through the antihistamine fog is just another hassle that I don’t feel like dealing with. So, this is my homework for this week – to figure out how not to turn into a leopard next Sunday. Spots are not a good look for me.

And that’s where things are right now. I’m almost half way through my training, and the cool Fall temperatures cannot come soon enough 🙂 For now, I’m just going to be happy that I’m done with travel for a while, and I can concentrate on taking better care of myself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

