Posted by: runawaynotes | April 14, 2015

Back in the game

Well, it has certainly been quite some time since I posted anything. I had my reasons for disappearing for so long. It started as a simple burnout. After training so hard for so long, running stopped being fun and felt more like a chore. Plus, I have sort of plateaued distance-wise. Long runs no longer felt like an accomplishment because I knew I could push myself harder and run longer (I just didn’t want to). Writing about running was no longer fun either. I enjoyed chronicling the struggles and triumphs of my marathon training, but I had no clue how to write about everyday stuff. I mean, I wouldn’t want to read about someone’s yet another 5 mile run (on the same course, with no particular goal in mind), so why would I want to write about this? So, I was burnt out, and I decided to take a break.

This break ended up taking a lot longer than I originally anticipated because in June of last year I learned that I was going to be running for two (if I chose to do so). I was super excited – for obvious reason, primarily – but also because this would give me both a new purpose in running and some great writing material. I was already envisioning myself with a nice round belly wearing a tech shirt emblazoned with “Baby’s first half marathon”. I mean, you see at least one pregnant woman at every race, and there are so many blogs of running mothers and mothers-to-be who knocked out an easy 5-miler in the morning before giving birth to their bundle of joy in the afternoon. If they could do it, I could do it. How hard can it be?

Well, apparently it was much harder than I ever imagined. Even though my doctor was unbelievably cool with me running, my body had other ideas. I was placed on partial bed rest for the entire first trimester due to some pregnancy-related issues, so I wasn’t even allowed to start running again until I was 13 weeks along. At that point, my heart rate started going all over the place. I could be sitting in my car waiting for my Garmin to locate satellites, and my heart rate was a nice 70 bpm. By the time I climbed out of the car, it would be at 90 bpm. My easy warm-up walking mile brought me to 120 bpm, and if I dared to even try to jog, it would soar all the way to 140-160 bpm. In addition to the heart rate issues, my feet and knees simply refused to support the extra pounds that I was putting on, and my lower back was threatening to quit as well. So, my runs quickly turned into run-walks, which then turned into fast-ish walks. I stubbornly pushed through until I was 27 weeks along. This is when my friends and I ran Dallas Marathon Relay (I did a 5 mile leg), and I promised myself that I would not even look at running shoes until after I give birth.

So, here I am today, waiting for my doctor to clear me to start exercising again at my 6 week postpartum appointment tomorrow. I am about 10 lbs heavier than I was when I ran MCM; my knees, hips, and lower back are sort of jacked from pregnancy, labor, and carrying around a constantly growing baby; and the longest distance I can run at the moment (yes, I already tried running even before talking to a doctor) is 2 miles at 12:41 min/mile pace, which makes me feel like I am going to die. The other things working against me are constant sleep deprivation and being unable to commit to any type of rigid schedule do the the fact that you can’t ask a hungry 6-week old infant to wait while her mom finishes an easy 3-miler. Oh, and I am planning on going back to work full time at the end of May. Given all these things, getting back in shape is going to be… interesting, to say the least. And “interesting” means that, finally, I will have something to write about 🙂 So, please wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Mind Margins

Thoughts on being human

DRC Training Program

Marathon / Half Marathon Training & Beginner Running Program

crankyandtaxing

A site that brings the excitement of tax law and the joy of politics together.

RUN NATURE

Run long. Run hard. Run forever.

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

52 Weeks, 52 Pounds

Weight loss, fitness, insanity.

STACEYPALMS

Just your average girl, with above average dreams and a not so average running life

Journey to Wellness

Fighting for health in my life one run, meal, and choice at a time

My Life as a Runner

"Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional." - Buddhist Aphorism

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

